Starting to get nervous

So I haven’t blogged for ages and it’s not something that I really do but wanted to just write this down, more for my own piece of mind than anything.

My “A” race is “The Snowman” by Always Aim Higher and it’s only 7 weeks away. I get a constant reminder on my Garmin and whilst it was there for motivation, I feel it might be a weight on my shoulders.

I have been training hard all year minus a holiday to South Africa (I did manage a few runs while where), but for some reason feel that I’m still not ready. Maybe it’s the fact that I live in the really flat county of Lincolnshire or the fact struggling to hit my self imposed training hours due to family life but there is still a nagging doubt in my head that I’m not going to get around.

My swimming feels good and at my last race, the Monster Mojito Olympic distance in Peterborough, I got a 2 min PB over the previous year. I have been doing well in both the pool and lake and average times for 100m are consistently lower than last year. My bike has not really improved over the last year in terms of speed but does seem easier to maintain and my run speed is easier to hold at a faster pace. All races I have entered this year have been ones I have done previously and all have been PBed. All this should make me confident but it doesn’t.

The original plan for “The Snowman” was 7h30mins but I think it will just be to complete at the moment. Will have to see how I get on during the event and manage expectations as I go, or is this just a defeatist attitude?

I have Woodhall Sprint Tri tomorrow and using it as a threshold training session and hope to smash it! Anyway, I will write another blog closer to race day and keep my legs turning over.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment