Is Garmin’s LTHR fit for purpose?

So today I tried to complete the Garmin LTHR test and it was a massive failure. I think I have now found out why but will have to wait and see when I try it again.

The watch has my max HR at 230 and this had come from the “auto detect”. Not sure where this had come from but it is defiantly not right. My current LTHR was set to 167 and wanted to see if this was still correct.

It was clear from very early on that I wasn’t going to get a new LTHR. My first “target zone” was 161-185 which was close to my current LTHR. It then moved on to 185-195, 195-205, 205-215 then finally 215-230. From the second zone I had no chance. I’m hoping it was due to the incorrect max HR from the auto detect.

Does anyone have a reliable way other than 220-age to get max HR? Have set to 188 as that is 220-age currently but any suggestions would be great. I maxed out at 176 during this test but wasn’t sprinting as knew I had to keep going for 3-4 mins per zone not just for 30-45 secs.

Might give Joel Friels 20 min time trial a go, or might try the Garmin one again now max HR is lower.

Here is to hoping that the Garmin test is fit for purpose and it was just my mistake with max HR that was the issue!

Leave a comment